//
you're reading...
Blog Posts, Recipes

Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

So I guess I should refrain from telling any more stories or making any more comments about The Terrorist, since we’re unofficially officially dating now. But the evening that it all came together and we realized that through all our online dating consternations, we were looking for each other, I made the meal of my life, so I figured I’d share.

The Menu
– Baked Brie with rosemary-toasted French bread (not Paleo)
– Coq au vin (chicken thighs in a red wine reduction sauce) (could be Paleo with a couple modifications)
– Smashed red potatoes with bacon, Gruyere cheese, and rosemary (I bought a bunch, I put it in everything)

– More wine, more wine, more wine
– Surprise maple-bacon cupcakes (smart… f***ing smart)

Most of this is intuitive, except the main course, so here’s how I did it (props to The Joy of Cooking, which I followed almost to-the-letter for this recipe):

1. Fry 4 strips of bacon, cut crosswise into thin strips. Set it aside, reserving the bacon fat.

2. Cut 2-3 lb chicken thighs into bite-size pieces, season with salt, then fry in bacon fat. Set it aside with the bacon so they can enjoy each other’s company.

3. In a big pot, sauté half a cup diced carrots and a cup of diced onions in half a stick of butter, until the onions are see-through.

4. Add 3 tbsp flour (almond flour would work here, I guess) and cook on low heat until the flour browns a bit and you have a thick roux, or base. Add in 3 cups red wine, 1 cup chicken broth, a teaspoon of rosemary or thyme, 2 bay leaves, the chicken, and the bacon.

5. Bring it to a boil, then slowly let it simmer. For an hour or so, to get the chicken soft. Then take all the chicken pieces out and set it aside.

6. Final step. Saute 1 cup mushrooms and 1 cup pearl onions in some butter, until the onions are browned and the mushrooms are soft. Pour that into the pot, then boil it all over again until the sauce gets nice and thick (called a “reduction”). Add the chicken back in and mix it all up. Add salt to taste and serve.

7. Be happy you have a dishwasher.

Quick notes about my first “Body by Science” workout, which involves slow slow reps of 5 different machine (sigh, I know) exercises to stimulate muscle growth:

The Workout: It did not seem like much. Compared to Fran and 100 burpees and heavy squats, the strain and exhaustion I got from 15 minutes of Nautilus machines was underwhelming. The good news is I was super-sore the next day, and soreness is just your muscles screaming from happiness. It has been a struggle-and-a-half to eat like I’ve been eating (3000 calories a day!) and actually rest all week, but such is the challenge of building muscle. Lots of hurry up and wait. I don’t anticipate my patience with this program lasting very long, unless I see amazing results in my strength or my size by, say, the end of October.

Eating: I don’t know if it’s the workout, but I’ve been hungry as hell, all week, and my food choices have not been the best, including my “four slices, one mouth” debacle at a pizza place last night with The Terrorist and a bunch of friends. I don’t feel or look any fatter from my near-week of food destruction, but for someone who has meticulously watched his carbs for the past year (to say nothing for my aversion to dairy, gluten, and processed *anything*), it’s like jumping into the deep end of the pool.

Maybe next week, I’ll actually stock up on squash and sweet potatoes and take the Paleo route seriously. But I doubt it…

Discussion

One thought on “Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

  1. Excellent with the Terrorist! I’m very happy for you! Now, don’t dare say a word about doing the deed, past, present or future in case she ever reads your blogs!

    Posted by Nicole | September 25, 2011, 6:39 pm

Leave a Reply

