//
you're reading...
Blog Posts

Paleo Challenge Day 0: By The Numbers

After some chocolate and champagne-fueled debauchery last night, I vociferously (and perhaps drunkenly) proclaimed that my midnight toast would be my last indiscretion for an entire month. I’m embarking on my 2nd run with the Paleo Diet, in the hopes of improving my overall health/conditioning a little bit, calming down my asthma/allergies, and maybe slimming down bit. Not that I need to lost much, but I have filled out of my skinny jeans during my weightlifting escapades, and I’d like to wear them again. Kidding. But my dress shirts are getting a little snug.

I’ve spent a good part of the weekend stockpiling groceries and devouring most everything in my condo that isn’t Paleo-friendly. I’m looking at you, eggnog cream truffles. My fridge is full of lean meat, and my freezer is full of veggies. I have a big tub of red curry paste, a shaker of cajun seasoning salt, and a pantry loaded with every manifestation of coconut product.

There’s been quite a bit of momentum behind the 21-Day Sugar Detox in the Paleo community on Twitter, so I’m sure to have some ideas and support. I don’t think I’m converting my peanut butter-and-grits-loving girlfriend anytime soon, but that may be a post for another time. I’m scheming a way to *put* 10 pounds on her. As for me, I’ve done this before, and learned what has worked and what hasn’t, as far as diet planning, shopping, fitness and whatnot. I’ve come up with a few rules to guide me over the next month:

Meal planning: I wish intermittent fasting would work for me. It sounds so appealing and scientifically sound. But my body loves breakfast. 3 big meals a day, a couple snacks in between, and in true caveman fashion, the occasional unplanned day of fasting. Maybe just 2 or 3 this month.

Meats: almost exclusively lean. There has been much written about the kind of fats that are present in the tastier cuts of poultry (they are loaded with omega-6, which induces LDL/HDL imbalances if not matched/surpassed by the amount of omega-3 fats you eat.) And I’m a bad Paleo-er, since I really dislike the taste of beef, even grass-fed, which is full of omega-3’s. My protein’s coming mostly from lean pork, lean chicken/turkey, eggs, and the occasional salmon steaks if they’re on sale.

Carbs: Veggies. Lots of them. I’m not going to pay more for organic. I have a tendency to run $200 grocery bills at Whole Foods, when the fresh frozen broccoli and cauliflower from Piggly Wiggly or Publix may be nearly as good for you. After sprint interval runs, one sweet potato (30g carbs or so) should cover me. After lifting, two potatoes. Fruits at a minimum, or in a pinch if I have an insatiable sweet tooth. No Stevia. Keep drinking tea/coffee black.

Fats: It’s the Year of the Coconut for me. And as always, I sing the praises of Nutiva Coconut Manna, which is on my top 10 list of foods I would gladly survive on exclusively for the rest of my life. Oh, and you know I love me some bacon. Nitrate-free for the challenge.

Alcohol: well, I have to stay sane, don’t I? I have a fancy unopened bottle of tequila I got at a house party last year. It may not survive the month. Also, there may be a couple of fancy tequila infusion recipes coming to the blog soon.

Training: thumbing my nose a tiny bit at Crossfit and it’s semi-randomized approach, I plan on doing the same thing every week. Uphill sprints (150m for 5-10 runs) 1-2 times a week. Weightlifting with the Jim Wendler 5-3-1 program 3 times a week. Lots of walking.

And finally, blogging/tweeting my progress, my challenges, my workouts, my meal experiment wins and fails.

Before the challenge, by the numbers:
182 – starting weight
17.6 – my body fat percentage, based on an average of a few semi-accurate methods (calipers, tape measurements, the Virgin Health Miles machine at the hospital)
5 – pounds I wouldn’t mind losing
150 – pounds of lean body mass, also my goal grams of protein per day
100 – number of eggs I anticipate eating this month

20120102-110610.jpg
Poor chickies. You didn’t stand a chance.

50 – number of sweet potatoes I anticipate eating this month
7 – goal hours of sleep a night
0 – times I would like to use my inhaler over the last week of this challenge
“at least 30” – days I plan to stay strict with the Paleo Diet, to which the girl responded, “There’s no way we’re eating some Paleo chocolate substitute on Valentine’s Day.” Actually, that sounds like the perfect day/weekend to finish the challenge.

Discussion

One thought on “Paleo Challenge Day 0: By The Numbers

  1. this will be awesome! your posts will keep me on track too. my challenge started today also. last night i decided to forgo dinner and simply eat chocolate just to get it all out of the house. :)

    Posted by cori | January 2, 2012, 10:14 pm

Leave a Reply

