//
you're reading...
Blog Posts

Paleo Challenge Days 6 & 7: Living a Real Life

Jan 6, 2012 – Day 6
Lunch: Tandoori-spiced chicken breasts, steamed broccoli and cauliflower
Workout: Deadlifts 260lbx5, 300lbx5, 340lbx9 / 62lb KB swings 3×10
Post-Workout: sweet potatoes, almond chicken and cauliflower rice
Dinner: lemon-caper chicken and mushroom/olive oil tossed spaghetti squash
Afters: Tequila-and-club soda x3
Future baby chickens consumed: 0 (30 total)
Sweet potato body count: 2 (4 total)
Inhaler puffs: 0 (4 so far this week)

Jan 7, 2012 – Day 7
Brunch: scrambled eggs, bacon, guacamole, salsa
Dinner: lemon-caper chicken and mushroom/olive oil tossed spaghetti squash
Second Dinner: pork shoulder, apples, celeriac puree, sausage-and-onions at Ollie Irene, with 2 glasses red wine.
Future baby chickens consumed: 5 (35 total)
Sweet potato body count: 0 (4 total)
Inhaler puffs: 0 (4 so far this week)

I’ve made it. One week of Paleo eating, no cheating, no giving into cravings for cheese or cake or cheesecake.

20120108-174712.jpg
(Soon, my precious.)

And looking back at my goals for the challenge, there have been some interesting surprises:

1. Asthma and allergies: In 2011, especially in the winter, I would have *killed* for a week of only 4 inhaler puffs. I was probably averaging 7-10 per week from Halloween on. I know that I tend to wheeze after exercise (even walking), but the carryover has been huge. I’ve been able to spend hours and hours with my cat-dander-caked girlfriend and have only a bit of a sniffle as a result. Instead of, like, trying to die. Which has happened.

2. Blogging: A little tougher than I thought it would be. It takes me an hour or more to compose a post and figure out what I want to write about. But the more I work on this and the more I document, the more accountable I am to myself (and, really, to my readers, even though there aren’t a whole bunch right now.) And you never know when something’s going to go viral.

3. Exercise: The sprinting has… not gone according to plan. I did my runs on Day 1 and since then, I’ve been walking (not much) and lifting (pretty much on schedule, every other day). I do like the Wendler 5-3-1 program so far, especially being able to get out of the gym in 30 minutes. He does bill it as a slow-and-steady program, which I’m OK with, as long as I see little strength gains here and there.

Fitness Goals for 2012:
1 rep max squats – 315
1 rep max bench press – 255
1 rep max deadlift – 495
1 rep max shoulder press – 175 (or whatever my body weight is…)
also – deadhang pullup with girlfriend on my back
uphill sprints x10 without getting gassed

4. Living a normal life: Probably my biggest worry. My first fling with the Paleo diet was done within the confines, I guess, of my CrossFit gym, where post-workout snacks/date bars were always available, and whenever we went out after a WOD, we’d go somewhere with Paleo-friendly menu items, even if it meant Whole Foods over and over again. What I learned from this weekend is that it *is* possible to go out and party while still avoiding sugars, grains, and pesky allergens. Then again, this week has been very cushy at work, and for the next two weeks, I have a strict 8-5 (at the earliest) schedule and the many sugary temptations that come from working at a hospital, which ironically may be the unhealthiest place to work. Sooo basically, I need to bring my own food everyday.

Next time: Coconut flour fail. Pork chop win.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

