//
you're reading...
Blog Posts

Paleo Challenge Day 17: Ode to Space Age Remotes

Tuesday January 17, 2012 – Day 17
Brunch: turkey chili leftovers, collard greens
Workout: shoulder press 95×3, 110×3, 120×8, then 30 pullups
Post-Workout: sweet potatoes, turkey chili
Dinner: giant omelet with chicken breast and roasted cauliflower
Future baby chickens consumed: 6 (68 total)

Sweet potatoes consumed: 2 (15 total)
Inhaler puffs: 0 (2 in last 7 days)

More on my Paleo snackings and calorie countings this afternoon, but I *must* digress for a bit to rave about my new Logitech Harmony Link remote. It’s $99, but it allows me to control my TV, DVD player, cable box, and Wii *all* from my phone or iPad. It’s EPIC. I stayed up till about 1:30 squealing like a smitten schoolgirl and playing with all the functions, fast-forwarding shows, changing channels, all that good stuff. If not for my wonky Bright House Networks Wi-Fi (which likes to cut out 4-5 times a day), it would be beyond perfect. *And* it’s sleek and space-agey and can possibly fool you into thinking it’s a sentient being.

It blinks green lights at you when it’s thinking. Spooky.

Stuff I’m working on:

1) A spreadsheet or running graph of my egg, sweet potato, and albuterol intake over this month. I might put together a graph on Excel (you know how much I *lurve* those), just to check my progress. Expect some data tomorrow or Saturday.

2) Calorie counts. I have no idea how much I’m eating. I shoot for 150g of protein a day, more or less, and let the carbs (mostly from green veggies and tomatoes, except after a lift) and the fat work themselves out, depending on how hungry I am. My guess is that I average 75g carbs per day and 100g fat per day, which would put me at 1800 calories. Not really enough for my metabolism. Add a can of coconut milk per day to that and I get 78g fat, 12g carbs, 6g protein for a total of 750 calories (more or less). 2500 calories per day is a much less stress-inducing goal. But I’ll have a more detailed breakdown this afternoon.

3) A day in the life of a Paleo grocery shopper. That may be tomorrow’s post. A running diary of my trip to Whole Foods tonight, which is long overdue. I’m working with my last bits of oil and my last bag of frozen veggies today, which will probably turn into a Thai curry of some sort. I’ll need it for my date with 245 lb back squats at the gym in an hour or two…

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

