//
you're reading...
Blog Posts, Recipes

Paleo Challenge Day 22: Silence of the Lambs

Day 22 – Sunday January 22
Brunch: ground lamb “quiche”, coconut-creamed spinach
Dinner: lamb burgers with guacamole
Second Dinner: lamb burgers with cauliflower puree
Future baby chickens consumed:6 (84 total)

Sweet potatoes consumed: 0 (20.5 total)
Inhaler puffs: 0 (2 in last 7 days)

Brimming with confidence from my epic buffalo burgers from last time, I attempted the same experiment with some ground lamb meat from Whole Foods. Mix with almond flour, onions, and spices, broil on high for six minutes on each side, and enjoy. Sadly for me, the natural lamb flavor really overwhelmed the other seasoning, and it wasn’t particularly palatable. I forced them down with some salsa and avocado, but meh. Turns out it *was* the buffalo meat, and not necessarily just the almond flour, that made my previous burgers awesome. I *did* have a wicked lamb burger at Flip Burger a while back, and that may be more of a tribute to their cooking ability than my taste for lamb, which has unfortunately soured.

My next experiment might (*might*) be to buy a bit of liver and search for palatable ways to cook it. The go-to’s, of course, being to drench it in bacon, bacon fat, cajun seasoning, and onions.

Also, I plan on making this very soon, courtesy of my friend Casey:

Paleo Tomato Soup:
Ingredients:
1 can organic diced tomatoes
1 can organic fire roasted tomatoes (pureed in blender)
1 can coconut milk (well blended so the solid re-liquifies)
1 cup organic chicken broth
1 or 2 tablespoons dried basil
1 tablespoon of oregano
salt and pepper to taste
onion powder to taste (about a teaspoon – I don’t really measure)
garlic powder to taste (about a teaspoon – I don’t really measure)
and I use a crushed red pepper to taste (a couple of big pinches) and a dash of hot sauce
Now this is great just like this, BUT if you want to kick it up a notch:
cook up about 5 slices nitrate/nitrite free bacon til crispy and crumble it into the soup.
Finely dice up 2 chicken breasts and cook it in the bacon grease with a little extra basil and minced garlic and minced onion and add that into the soup
Simmer on med-low for about 20 min, stirring occasionally.

Next time: a love letter to Richard Nikoley’s “Free The Animal” book (a STEAL at $3.99!). I think more like a hunter and less like a gatherer. In excited anticipation, I’m fasting today and breaking it tomorrow afternoon.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

