//
you're reading...
Blog Posts

Paleo Challenge Days 25 and 26: Perfect Health and Other Goals

Day 25 – Wednesday January 25
Lunch: tomato soup leftovers, 1 chicken breast with extra olive oil
Dinner: giant omelet with guacamole, bacon, spinach
Drinks: 2 glasses wine
Future baby chickens consumed: 8 (92 total)

Sweet potatoes consumed: 0 (22.5 total)
Inhaler puffs: 0 (2 in last 7 days)

Day 26 – Thursday January 26
Lunch: pork fajita salad with guacamole
Snack: 4 hard-boiled eggs mixed with avocado and salsa
Dinner: butternut squash soup and roasted pumpkin seeds
Future baby chickens consumed: 4 (96 total)

Sweet potatoes consumed: 0 (22.5 total)
Inhaler puffs: 0 (2 in last 7 days)

February is the cruellest month for the Paleo diet. I have three big weekend blowouts on my agenda, one after another, all of which are *begging* for a temporary return to my dessert-munching and pasta-snarfing. There’s the Super Bowl, for which I could always make coconut-breaded wings, I imagine, but still. Then there’s Valentines Day (the first one I’m celebrating in 5 years, so I’m going to make it count). And the weekend after that, the girl and I are spending a night or two in Nashville for our 6-monthiversary. Like I said, many chances to slip up, and lots of incentive to do the same. I’m not going all the way to Nashville to eat grilled chicken salads.

There are, I guess, two ways to handle the “no-longer-strict” scenario. One: The Gorge. Have a massive cheat meal or cheat day, then spend the next day or two repenting by eating super-clean, green veggies and lean meat. Two: The Gradual Reintroduction. After 30 days of being dairy- and grain- and sugar-free, I’m obviously going to start sampling large food groups to assess their effect on my asthma and overall well-being. High-fat high-quality dairy and unprocessed-as-possible sugars are first on the list. I am really craving some chocolate. Or a stick of butter.

This is where one of my new discoveries, The Perfect Health Diet, comes into play. Written by two Ph.D’s who reversed their chronic health problems through researching the ideal mammalian diet, they take a scientific look at nutrient intake and energy consumption and production on a cellular level. They differ from  Paleo (or at least my interpretation of it), in their encouragement of fat (at least 60% of calories), their discouraging of protein (150g a day, max), and their approval of butter, occasional sugar, and white rice. Pretty soon, I’m going to start a series of posts looking at the Perfect Health Diet and their views on different nutrient groups, and how I can incorporate it into my own diet and for my own goals, which are somewhere between “be super-healthy” and “be Jim Brown“. Can I use the PHD to put on a bit of muscle, in line with my weightlifting program? Entirely possible, the authors argue, if I stick to 150g a day of protein and starchy carbs, and load up on fats.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

