//
you're reading...
Blog Posts

Paleo Challenge Days 27 and 28: 100 Eggs and Counting

Day 27 – Friday January 27
Workout: shoulder press 100×5, 115×3, 125×6
Post-workout: sweet potatoes, red curry chicken and cauliflower
Snack: red curry chicken and cauliflower
Dinner: rutabaga fries, jalapeno scrambled eggs
Future baby chickens consumed: 4 (100 total!!!)

Sweet potatoes consumed: 2 (24.5 total)
Inhaler puffs: 0 (2 in last 7 days)

Day 28 – Saturday January 28
Workout: sprint rows 5x200m
Breakfast: guacamole and bacon omelet
Lunch: carrot sticks and guacamole, champagne
Dinner: roasted cream of mushroom soup, rosemary pork loin
Future baby chickens consumed: 8 (108 total)

Sweet potatoes consumed: 0 (24.5 total)
Inhaler puffs: 1 (2 in last 7 days)

How much could change in two days? I’ll admit that I’m a little bit eager to try out some new on-the-borderline-of-Paleo foods to test my body’s response to them, starting off with some high-fat dairy, some dark chocolate, and some sources of clean starches like rice and potatoes. These, I imagine, would also complement my weightlifting and prevent me from getting too gassed or exhausted during my heavy lifts. Not that it’s happening now, but hell, if I have a window to eat some potatoes or a chocolate bar and not have it affect my physiology, then I’m gonna do it.

Since I do have a flair for the dramatic, I think I’d like to start with a giant chunk of chocolate or a stick of grass-fed butter, but it may end up being something a bit more tame (Super Bowl chili with some cheese and sour cream on it, for example.)

Weightlifting progress: This is the ‘cool-down’ week of the Jim Wendler 5-3-1 cycle, which I know is necessary to help your body recover from the previous weeks of lifting-to-failure, but leaving the gym after benching little more than half your one-rep max seems frustrating and unproductive. Maybe I should do a few sprint rows (no uphill sprints for a while, thanks to my busted toe) after my lifts, so it feels like I’ve *done* something at the gym.

"Nobody loves me."

The lonely equipment: The most enjoyable, and at the same time sad, things about my gym is that the squat rack and the rowing machine are *always* available. *Always*. I may have had to wait for a barbell *once* this year. The rowing machine was over in the corner of the cardio/big-screen TV room, collecting dust, crowded out of prime viewing area by multiple versions of exercise bikes and ellipticals. I think it was happy to see me.

Next time: 30 days of Paleo, with swanky graphical results.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

