//
you're reading...
Blog Posts

Carb Backloading Experiment – Day 2

I was dreading yesterday. An entire day without carbohydrates? I haven’t done this in months. Years, maybe? What would I eat? How would I adjust? How much would I crave a dusty peanut butter cup lying the corner of the conference room, or an errant nubbin of frosting on the cafeteria table, residual from a long-since-devoured slice of cake? Turns out I did fine, but it wasn’t easy.

6:30am – No work till 8am today, so I get up, make a cup of coffee, and stroll outside for 20-30 minutes, mug in one hand, cell phone in the other, checking e-mail and ESPN.com. Communing with nature, indeed. If only I had had my headphones on, listening to NPR or some Wu-Tang or Camera Obscura.

7am – Breakfast, of sorts. In my quest to avoid carbs but still have some calories on board first thing in the morning to prevent me from getting too hormonally stressed, I come up with this: 3-4 sheets of sushi nori (seaweed), torn into strips. Dip them in a mix of olive oil (1/4 cup), lemon juice, salt, and pepper. (56g fat, 0g carb, 0g protein). Cold shower and I’m out the door.

12:30pm – I’m surprisingly not hungry. We all know the theory that high fat meals keep you satiated, but I really feel like I could do this all day and not have one stomach rumble. I head home for lunch, just in time to haggle with the A/C repairman who wants to charge me $1700 to replace a freon leak in something-or-other. I chow down on a few more egg cupcakes and make a simple creamed spinach: 1 bag frozen chopped spinach, 1 tbsp coconut oil, salt and red chili flakes. Bring to a boil, simmer for 10-15 minutes, then take off heat and add 1/4 cup coconut manna. Stir until creamy. I ate about half the bowl around 1:30. (45g fat, 8g carb, 26g protein).

4pm – Again, lack of preparation dooms me. I’m stuck at work with no go-to snacks and no ‘old man dinner’ to tide me over until real dinner. My stomach starts rumbling. I dream about. I chug another coffee, hoping that the caffeine will act as a bit of an appetite suppressant until 8pm, when I can leave the office and grab a large dinner.

8:15pm – Zoe’s, a semi-local Mediterranean restaurant chain around here, is my saving grace. They offer one of the more interesting low-carb options out there, the Protein Power Plate (see above). Grilled chicken breast, caramelized onions, on top of a feta-and-scallion slaw. (30g fat, 11g carb, 43g protein.) I got home and I knew I wasn’t close to my calorie goals. So I did what any sane person would do:

(4 strips – 18g fat, 8g protein, 0g carbs.)

My totals for the day: 150g fat, 19g carbs, 77g protein, 1750 calories.
My goals (from yesterday): 150g fat, 50g carbs, 100g protein, 1950 calories.

So… not bad, could have been better with a bit more time and foresight. I can’t see how this diet could possibly be sustainable (it was less than 24 hours since my carb binge and I was craving chocolate like nobody’s business), but I’m already 20% through the experiment, so we’re fine. New Orleans will save me.

Oh, and big news! I bought grass-fed real-deal buffalo (ground, so I can make shepherd’s pie or burgers) from Tropical Traditions. Arriving in my freezer next week! Mooooooooo (or whatever sound buffalo make.)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

