//
you're reading...
Blog Posts, Recipes

Carb Backloading Experiment – Day 3

This post is brought to you by the good people at Jimmy John’s subs, who find giant lettuce leaves to use as wraps for their ‘unwich’ subs! I got a turkey club with extra cheese for lunch (39g fat, 8g carb, 28g protein), which I highly recommend for any low-carb pursuers, even in the short term. They also have more paleo-friendly options, and everything is highly customizable.

7am – Had my usual coffee and breakfast of olive oil and seaweed strips (56g fat, 0g carb, 0g protein.) Again, the big fat load made me feel quite full. I don’t know if it’s giving me the full benefits of intermittent fasting, but there’s something to be said for having some protein-free calories every so often (the concept of autophagy, giving your cells a chance to breakup and recycle old proteins when they’re not inundated with new amino acids in the diet all the time…)

1:30pm – this:

4:30pm – Snack, and this time I was prepared. I brought some egg cupcakes and my coconut-creamed spinach in a cooler. (48g fat, 12g carb, 28g protein). I even had enough time to calculate what I’d need protein-wise for the rest of the day. And so I made:

9pm – Bacon-fried chicken breast and broccoli hash (42g fat, 10g carb, 52g protein.) I chopped up a chicken breast, 4 bacon slices, and some thawed frozen broccoli, then tossed the meat with salt in a saute pan on medium-high until it browned a bit. Then I added the broccoli and browned it, finishing the plate off with 2 tbsp of butter that melted in the pan off heat and brought everything together, reduced the dryness, etc.

Totals for the day: 185g fat, 30g carb, 108g protein (2217 cals). Very excited about this. I don’t know if I’m making much progress yet, but I feel great, and the immediate sugar cravings are gone. I’m satisfied with being able to load up on carbs every couple of days, and the concept of “earning” my cheats is interesting. I don’t know if I’ve seen much in the way of weight loss and slimming down yet, but I’ll leave that to the before and after photos / body fat measures / etc.

Tomorrow: Is my shoulder ready for a bench press? Also, I challenge either a 2 pound baked potato or a massive plate of paella. Or both. And wash it down with ice cream, natch.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

