//
you're reading...
Blog Posts

Carb Backloading Experiment – Day 4

In which I learn that you can’t have it all.

6:30am – Breakfast as usual (nori, butter, olive oil) – 52g fat, 0 carb, 0 protein.

9am, 10am, 11am – Coffee explosion, a nod to the 6 hours of sleep I got last night.

1:30pm – Lunch, which I was once again prepared for – 4 egg cupcakes, Brussels sprouts with shredded cheese (scrounged from the hospital cafeteria) – 55g fat, 12g carb, 32g protein

5:30pm – The lift of unfathomable sadness. Now I *know* that I haven’t benched in a month, and I *know* my shoulder is not at 100%, but I still struggled with not attempting my old 5-rep max of 205 lb on my first bench press set. I figured that 185 (my body weight, give or take) would be easy and leisurely, a good place to restart with this lift. Sigh. I got up that 4th rep with a couple of extra grunts, and I was done. They were good reps, no writhing or twisting under the bar, no extra back arch. But 4? 4? I was a sad panda. I sheepishly pushed 155lb x6 for my secondary set. The dumbbell rows (75×8, 65×10) stroked my ego a bit better.

Next week’s goals: bench 185×5 / 160×6 , rows 80×8 / 70×10.

9pm – This time, I waited a good 2-3 hours after my lift to head to Rojo for a post-workout carb binge. I was up against my old nemesis, a huge plate of extra-spicy chicken paella. Last time, I barely finished half my plate, prompting The Terrorist to shake her head and call me a pussy. But this time, I was ready. Sweat dripping from my forehead, throat slightly burning, and with a salty margarita sloshing in my belly, I conquered the delicious mix of rice, saffron, jalapeno sausage, and chicken in about 5 minutes. I was hungry. – (estimated) 30g fat, 150g carb, 40g protein.

Also, The Terrorist and I decide that we need to:
1) experiment with various fresh-squeezed juice margaritas and make a Paleo-friendly simple syrup
2) have a get-drunk-before-noon day (mimosas, then bloody Marys, then margaritas or sangria, then wine, and finally Scotch).

11:30pm – I drag myself home, still slightly full, drink a whey protein shake and tear open a bag of Dove chocolates (finishing about half.) – 36g fat, 54g carb, 56g protein. Looks like another night of inadequate sleep…

Totals for the day: 175g fat, 218g carb, 128g protein (2959 cals)

Next time: Buffalo burgers! They’re here!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

