//
you're reading...
Blog Posts

Carb Backloading Experiment Day 5 & 6

A quick update while I slog through my 14th consecutive day of work before a much-needed break:

My ground buffalo arrived from Tropical Traditions! Soon (very soon), I’m going to experiment with giant 1-lb burgers with various flavors and seasonings. #1: a Thai red curry burger, just because I need to finish off the big tub I have before it expires on me. I feel like Bob from “Bob’s Burgers”, and maybe I should come up with corny nod-to-the-special-ingredient names for them like “A View to a Kale”.

So halfway into my experiment, I definitely feel leaner, and my energy levels are through the roof, considering my long work days. I’m down about 2-3 pounds, and compared to the beach trip last week and Warrior Dash a few weeks ago, I think my muscle definition’s a bit improved. Too bad that 1) this isn’t a particularly sustainable way to eat and 2) I just may be able to reverse all this progress with a solid eating performance in New Orleans this coming weekend.

The breakdown for Friday and Saturday below:

May 11 – rest day.

Nori, butter 42g fat, 0 carb, 0 protein
Greens and coconut manna 45g fat, 10g carb, 5g protein
Pulled pork with a bit of BBQ sauce 15g fat, 4g carb, 20g protein
Turkey burgers with coconut chutney 44g fat, 5g carb, 95g protein
Totals: 146g fat, 19g carb, 120g protein (1870 cals)

May 12 – lifting day.

Fasting stage:
Nori, butter 72g fat, 0g carb, 0g protein
Deadlifts – went well – 365×5 easy, 315×6 easy – next time 375 and 325.
Overhead Squats – went badly, with lots of shoulder-clicking badness – BAIL at 45lbs
Farmer’s Walk – 75lb dumbbells x 100m

Feasting Stage:
Whey protein 0g fat, 0g carb, 50g protein
Sweet potatoes 0g fat, 35g carb, 2g protein
Various care package Indian snacks from my mom 30g fat, 70g carb, 10g protein

Recovery Stage:
STAIRS OF DOOM (25 flights)
Chicken and rice 20g fat, 60g carbs, 50g protein

Totals: 157g fat, 165g carbs, 112g protein (2521 cals)

Next time – some more helpful recipes; I learn to love afternoon naps; planning for New Orleans food debauchery.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

