//
you're reading...
Blog Posts, Recipes

Burger of the Day

My “old man” dinner last night was a rabid clustering of every low-carb high-fat ingredient in my fridge, throwing them together in a pan to break an unexpected fast of sorts. A long lunch meeting at work turned out *not* to have any lunch at all. Just coffee and fruit. Blerg. So aside from my morning butter, I was running on a relatively empty stomach. And then came this:

Buffalo burger, topped with a bacon-fat-fried egg, topped with a “nest” of 4 bacon strips, topped with pimiento cheese (which, for you fellow non-Southern natives, is a mix of shredded cheddar cheese, cream cheese or some other binder, pepper, and pimientos AKA the red things in the middle of cocktail olives). It’s delicious. The fried egg provided the necessary moisture to bring the whole thing together, and the bacon provided fabulous crunch. Five stars, must make again ASAP (73g fat, 2g carb, 50g protein). My totals for yesterday:

Butter and nori 36g fat, 0g carb, 0g protein
Caesar Salad 34g fat, 4g carb, 4g protein
Pimiento Burger 73g fat, 2g carb, 50g protein
Fried chicken breast with cauliflower gratin 40g fat, 5g carb, 50g protein
Totals: 183g fat, 11g carb, 104g protein (2107 cals)

I’ve been getting into a groove with eating butter-drenched veggies of some sort every morning after a brisk 1.5-mile walk to work, and waiting until after noon for my first protein. I don’t think I’ve seen a whole lot of change in my body composition, but maybe I’m being too impatient. If I stuck with this plan for another 2-3 months and was strict about it, it could potentially work. But it’s really more challenging than anticipated, because a full day without *any* carbs (aside from leafy/cruciferous veggies) requires more planning than most of us busy folks are capable of.

But when you have 15-20 minutes to cook, you can also make something like this (my Sunday night dinner):

That’s packaged chunk tuna on top of sauteed squash, with some extra butter because I feel like it. Topped with fresh-ground pepper because it looks cool. I should *so* be on MasterChef. 44g fat, 10g carbs, 34g protein.

Later today, my final workout of this 10-day experiment, and a potential re-destruction of my ailing shoulder.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

