//
you're reading...
Blog Posts

The Quest for Conditioning

It’s a new day, and with a new day comes a new experiment. Another 10-14 day cycle of doing something slightly drastic and silly, to see if it’s the magic bullet that accomplishes the right combination of my five major goals: better metabolic conditioning, increased strength, increased muscle mass, fat loss, asthma control. Coming back from New Orleans, my priority rankings of these five would be:

1: asthma control – we’re back at once-a-day inhaler use, and that may be a conservative estimate
2: conditioning – I got in a lot of suitcase-carrying walking through NOLA last week, but I’ll say it – I kinda miss CrossFit and the crazy bodyweight WOD’s I was able to do 1-2 years ago


via

3: fat loss – it’s beach season, and there have been requests for me to rock a pair of Daniel-Craig-as-James-Bond style trunks the next time I hit the Gulf
4: strength – I know I put this at #4, but I’m sure I’ll be pissed next time I struggle through 4 measly reps of 185lb bench press
5: muscle mass – eh, I feel like I’m big enough for now, especially considering it’s summer (see #3)

So, how to accomplish this? Obviously, a Paleo challenge, yes? Perfect! Except… the Magic City Brew Fest is coming next week, and the allure of sampling dozens of rare, high-quality high-gravity beers is too much to resist. POSTPONE. Which brings me to priority #2 – conditioning. I’ve put together a tough 10-day workout schedule that emulates what training-for-the-Games CrossFitters are doing to build strength and fitness capacity. If it works (and doesn’t kill me), it *may* just be the training regimen I use for the summer.

The Lifts: Reverse Pyramid training, with a 4-workout cycle that runs for 10 days (so I get 1-2 rest days after each lift). Sticking with 2 movements a day, 2 sets per movement. In the afternoon around 3-5pm, in accordance with Carb Backloading’s idea of lifting in a low-cortisol state.

1 – squats 5 reps / 6 reps – hang power cleans 8 reps / 10 reps
2 – bench 5 reps / 6 reps – dummbell rows 8 reps / 10 reps
3 – deadlifts 5 reps / 6 reps – overhead squats 8 reps / 10 reps (or farmer’s walk)
4 – weighted pullups 5 reps / 6 reps – shoulder press 8 reps / 10 reps

During these 10 days, I also want to do a bunch of quick 5-10 minute early morning conditioning workouts, on a 4-day-on/1-day-off schedule (so 8 WODs altogether). Simple things. 50 burpees for time, 100 kettlebell swings at 53 lbs, 4-8 uphill sprints, running the stairs in my condo. Obviously, I’ve already started, and my first round of 50 burpees took 4:08. Faster than I predicted, but close to a minute slower than my best-ever pace. And I was gassed. Had I extended to 100, it would have taken me 10 minutes easy.

In practice, it turns out like this:

AM metcon PM lift
22-May N/A squat / hang clean
23-May burpee N/A
24-May KB bench / dumbbell row
25-May stairs N/A
26-May sprint N/A
27-May burpee deads / overhead squat
28-May N/A N/A
29-May KB N/A
30-May sprint chins / shoulder press
31-May stairs N/A

Diet: obviously important, considering the heavy workload I’m doing. I’m eating as much Paleo food as I can, with lots of root vegetables including some regular potatoes (but preferably sweet potatoes). A couple cheat meals with ice cream or chocolate. And of course, the beer. I’m saving the high-carb loads for 60 minutes after a workout, but immediately after a WOD or lift, I’m going to take Robb Wolf’s advice and have a low-carb protein shake (50g whey protein, 10-15g fat of some sort). Otherwise, I’m going to eat as much as I want, not obsessing over counting calories or strategically stuffing myself.

And that’s the plan. The risks: injury, possibly, considering the relatively new met-con load. Overtraining. Not being able to build strength because of extra energy going to the morning WODs / not enough recovery time. The benefits: potentially losing some body fat, as long as I let the eating and sleeping take care of themselves and don’t restrict anything. Also, being in better shape, which I’m sure I already have a good handle on, but who knows? Maybe something about turning 32 has sparked me to rediscover trying to be obscenely fit.

Yummy photos from New Orleans coming tomorrow!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

