//
you're reading...
Blog Posts

Paleo and Asthma, Round Two

Two big notes from the first week of my abbreviated two-week clean-eating trial. I haven’t played completely by Paleo rules (adding some splashes of heavy cream to coffee, and cooking veggies in butter), but other than that, I’ve been good and grain-/dairy-free.

1. The asthma response works again! Interesting that I’ve seen such a dramatic difference in this short a time period. I’m sure weather change/dust has something to do with it (and I’ll never get a controlled trial period of being in my mom’s house eating Paleo food), but when I was in Jersey over Thanksgiving break, I snored through congested sinuses, wheezed up a storm, and generally felt achy. Now, snoring’s gone, congestion’s gone, and asthma is getting better. Here are my daily albuterol tallies for the past 2 weeks:

1,0,1 [leave for NJ] 4,4,3,6,4 [return to AL] 2,2,1,1,0,1

So there’s that. I’ve got 5 more days to shield my immune system from loads of bread/carbs/gluten, and we’re throwing a party at the house Saturday that’s going to blow all that out of the water. I’m going to have to review the whole Kiefer protocol on how to break the 10-day low-carb cycle in the best possible fashion. Do I have to work out right before my party? Can I drink a lot of booze? There will be much egg nog and mulled wine.

eggnog

2. Down 4 pounds! Avoiding carbs and walking a lot, despite not touching a weight or running up a hill in nearly two weeks, has worked, oddly enough. My sleep schedule hasn’t been the greatest, but my week has been relatively low on physical/emotional stressors. And I’m down from 198 when I came back from my mom’s place to 193.8 this morning. I think I look a little leaner; the side views show this better, but I didn’t take those photos. My stomach’s definitely shrunken in a bit. I’d like to get down to 190, but if it doesn’t happen, I can always fall back on starting lifting next week, adding some sprints, etc.

photo 1photo 2

Next time: Punjabi roast chicken. My kitchen still smells all kinds of awesome.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

